Honda N-VAN — Japan 2018
JP / 2018 Japan release
Honda N-VAN: work, packaging and the N-BOX connection
Honda’s design aims are reported as manufacturer statements. The N-BOX platform account keeps the models distinct; exact platform and engine codes, full types, production intervals and interchangeability remain UNKNOWN. The table contains 20 Honda SENSING rows only, with equipment exceptions retained.
Announcement and scheduled sales
Honda’s release is dated 12 July 2018. It announces sales of N-VAN at dealerships across Japan from 13 July; the document is an announcement, rather than a retrospective confirmation of deliveries.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
heading date and opening dateline paragraph; retained lines6–8. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
A vehicle designed around work
Honda says it developed N-VAN after studying working people’s daily lives, aiming at usability for different jobs and businesses. G and L pursue functionality as a tool; +STYLE adds distinct presentation and features. These are the manufacturer’s stated design aims.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
opening development and lineup paragraphs; retained lines9–10. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
The N-BOX platform connection
Honda states that N-VAN uses the platform newly developed for N-BOX, while being designed especially for commercial use. This is a model-level platform-reuse statement; it does not identify an exact platform code or establish component interchangeability.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
Key features > Convenience > first bullet; retained line24. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
Packaging a low cargo floor
The release locates the fuel tank beneath the front seats. Honda attributes the low cargo floor and vertical cargo space to its center-tank layout combined with the FF platform. FF here describes the packaging account; the price table separately lists FF and 4WD versions.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
opening center-tank paragraph and Convenience first bullet; retained lines12,23–24. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
A passenger seat that joins the cargo floor
Honda describes a dive-down mechanism for the front passenger seat as well as the rear seats, creating a flat cargo floor extending from the tailgate to the passenger-seat area. Its stated purpose includes carrying long items.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
Convenience second bullet; retained lines11,25. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
An opening on the left side
N-VAN’s large side opening is on the front passenger, left side. Honda describes a door-in-pillar structure in the left front door and left sliding door, incorporating the center-pillar function when closed. This description does not establish the same opening on the right side.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
opening body paragraph; Safety > Body design first bullet; retained lines13,15,53. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
The driver’s working day
Honda says its driver’s seat and low-floor design were developed for long driving periods and repeated entry and exit, with the aim of reducing physical burden. The release provides a design rationale, not independent evidence of reduced fatigue for every driver.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
Comfort > Driver’s seat bullets; retained lines56–57. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
An engine adapted to a different job
Honda describes optimizing N-VAN’s engine from the high-efficiency engine used in N-BOX for commercial loads and usage patterns. The price table distinguishes 660 cc DOHC and 660 cc DOHC turbo; it does not state an exact engine code.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
Driving performance first bullet; MSRP Engine column; retained line31. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
Transmission choices by type
The release price table contains 20 Honda SENSING configurations. G, L, +STYLE FUN and +STYLE COOL each list FF and 4WD with CVT or 6MT; FUN Turbo and COOL Turbo each list FF and 4WD with CVT only. No turbo 6MT row is shown.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price table, Type/Engine/Drive/Transmission columns,20body rows. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
Equipment has exceptions
The release also offers versions without Honda SENSING for types without turbo engines; they are not expanded into inferred table rows here. Footnote2 excludes ACC, LKAS and false forward/backward start prevention on manual cars, and restricts Auto High Beam to +STYLE.
Source and scope
Manufacturer source ↗ · JP · 2018-07-12 Japan N-VAN release
opening footnote2 and footnote below MSRP table; retained line19. Checked 6 October 2026. Source date: 2018-07-12 (dated manufacturer release; later technical revisions UNKNOWN).
Models connected, identities retained
2018-07-12N-BOX
Honda states that N-VAN uses the N-BOX platform. An exact platform code, N-BOX generation mapping, production interval and component interchangeability remain UNKNOWN.
Release-period configurations
Scroll across each table on smaller screens. These rows retain the release date above; later revisions are not included.
| Grade / type | Roof | Engine description | Drive | Transmission | Full type / exact gearbox code |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| G・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | FF | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| G・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | FF | 6MT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| G・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | 4WD | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| G・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | 4WD | 6MT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| L・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | FF | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| L・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | FF | 6MT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| L・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | 4WD | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| L・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | 4WD | 6MT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE FUN・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | FF | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE FUN・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | FF | 6MT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE FUN・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | 4WD | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE FUN・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | 4WD | 6MT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE COOL・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | FF | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE COOL・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | FF | 6MT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE COOL・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | 4WD | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE COOL・Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC | 4WD | 6MT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE FUN・Turbo Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC turbo | FF | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE FUN・Turbo Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC turbo | 4WD | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE COOL・Turbo Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC turbo | FF | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
| +STYLE COOL・Turbo Honda SENSING | UNKNOWN | 660 cc DOHC turbo | 4WD | CVT | UNKNOWN / UNKNOWN |
Generation mapping, full Japanese types, exact transmission assembly codes and production start/end remain UNKNOWN. Honda engine codes are not stated. Versions without Honda SENSING are acknowledged in the source footnote but are not expanded into additional configuration rows.
Explore another separately sourced kei vehicle design account →
See these events on the timeline → · Open Garage comparison →
